March 21, 2012

Listening to My Inner Voice………

Posted in Uncategorized at 1:40 PM by Sandra@Just Regular Folks Wandering

Alanon’s Courage to Change is a favorite daily read of mine.   The wisdom in this book has helped me alter the faulty thinking I acquired from living with the effects of alcoholism and addiction. I purchased this delightful little book five years ago in a 12 step meeting and it’s still part of my daily reading. 

Today’s reading was a timely reminder to listen to my inner voice, or higher power.  Even though experience, logic, and old family rules tell me to take the safe route in life, lately, my inner voice has been begging me to try a new direction–especially in the job department. 

For many years I’ve stifled my inner voice and ignored my dreams and desires in order to take the safe way through life.  As a child I sketched and drew; I wrote stories and poetry; I sewed and created.  I used to be so artistic, but I put it on the back burner in order to deal with other’s lives.  I picked jobs that were safe, easy and that paid the bills–I settled for the expected.

Lately, I’ve been really struggling to remain in my current job.  I work in an office where the leadership changed and the work environment  has become very dysfunctional.  I’m very unhappy and it’s an effort to stay positive.  I’ve been battling with the idea of  leaving my current employment and finding a  job I actually enjoy. 

Logic tells me to stay put.  I’ve got great benefits, a pension, seniority, and decent pay.  So what if I’m not happy.  It’s a safe and secure job in a world where unemployment is high and the economy is still recovering.  It’s not so bad, it pays the bills, just deal with it! 

My inner voice tells me to run for my life!  It screams, take a chance, there’s something better out there for you!  You deserve to be happy.  My higher power sends me signs that I’m worthy of a better job and that there’s a company out there more appreciative of my talents.  Do I listen?

I can hear my higher power whispering in my ear, “take a chance.”  I feel that tap on my shoulder, the winks and signs that say “detour ahead”  and sadly, I just freeze.  I’m afraid and all I can do is pray for the courage to change my old way of thinking and start listening to what my inner voice is telling me.  I know I have a lot to offer, I deserve a better job.  Life’s too short, sister…..calm your fears, listen, and then take action.

Leave a Reply

