May 22, 2012

Chance Made Us Sisters, Hearts Made Us Friends

Posted in Uncategorized at 6:01 AM by Sandra@Just Regular Folks Wandering

I want to honor my big sister Debbie, who passed away a few weeks ago at the age of 58 from lung cancer.  Debbie is the youngest of my three “big” sisters.  Growing up, we shared a room, but because of the difference in our ages, we were never the kind of sisters who shared clothes or went to school together.   I don’t remember much about that time except that she talked in her sleep alot and she would tattle on me for not picking my toys!  Debbie and I connected later in life when we both became mothers for the first time.  We both had our first daughters just two months apart in 1982, and we’ve been hanging out with each other living life ever since.   We’ve spent the last 30 years raising our family’s together–celebrating birthdays and graduations, going on trips and vacationing, and watching our children grow into adults.

Debbie cared alot about family~she was one of those big sisters that always had your back and was there for you when you needed her.  She has always been there for me and my girls supporting our accomplishments, right along side her own own family’s.  She always included me in her life and always showed up to participate in mine.  I am so grateful that I was able to spend the last thirty years of my life with a wonderful sister who could not only read my mind and  finish my sentences, but made me laugh til my sides ached and tears rolled down my face. I will miss you Deb.

A sister is a gift to the heart, a friend to the spirit, and a golden thread to the meaning of life_Isadora James

Leave a Reply

